The Four Best People I know. My Backbone, My Life Line and My Two Sugar Pills, That Sweeten My Days.

My Parents and Sisters.

One year and 4 months ago my life changed completely, but so did the lives of my entire family.

(Video Interview with Hit104.9 The Border with Riley Rose and Seamus below, scroll down)

18109697_10156187359273228_803215314_n
My family

Not being a parent myself, I can not imagine what their bodies must have felt receiving the phone call the day of the accident.

My mother recieved the phone call about my accident. She had already had a gut feeling that day that something was wrong. I was in Peru and they, in Australia. Of coarse you would want to get to your loved one asap after receiving a phone call about them being close to death right.? They received the phone call and they were unable to get to me in South America straight away, as it was over the Christmas period and there were no flights, they had to wait a period of 2-3 days and flight time.

I was mid operation while they were in the air coming across, the last news they’d heard was my kidney was failing and I was bleeding internally, unsure of the state Id be in when they arrived.

When they arrived in South America at the hospital, dad walked straight past me, he didnt recognise me, my whole body swollen from brakes and my face still was so swollen being head down from surgery.

2015-12-19-10-09-51
Myself in the Peruvian Hospital after surgery with dad

Here they sat with me in the Peruvian Hospital, fighting at the same time to get me out of there. Dad racked up a $4000 phone bill, trying to get through to the Australian embassy how serious the situation actually was,  that it was a matter of life and death. Thankfully they finally got onto my travel insurance company, then final once a case number was established they could send a learjett to get me out of Peru.

Dad then had to make the call to move me, or leave me in Peru for further surgeries or there was a chance Id become complete paraplegic if moved!…What a call to have to make as a father, am I right?

He made the call to move me.

Then when I was flown to California they sat by my hospital bed for almost two months in San Diego and witnessed me, their daughter undergo excruciating amounts of pain. Its the worst thing in the world Isnt it? watching someone you love in pain? watching anyone in pain for that matter.

img_2107

When I was flown from California to Re-rehabilitation in Melbourne, they would take in turns in making the 4 hr drive down from our home town Albury and back. Each of them would drive down singularly and spend 3 days with me, and then they’d swap, so I never had to be alone. At this stage I was still having night traumas from the experiences in Peru where Id be left alone locked in a room at times, in ICU, it was just their safety regulations over there, to not over crowd the room. So i hated being alone.

They watched and waited as I slowly began the long road to recovery. The rehab in Australia holds very little comforting memories for me. I see grey whenever I hear the name of the rehab. Which I guess in a way was a good thing at the time because it made me work harder to get the heck out of there.

Mum had to become my full time carer when I left rehab, it was like having a baby for her her all over again.

I was still in a wheel chair, unable to shower myself, lay down by myself, take myself to the toilet, put my self in to bed, sit up by myself. Mum had to do everything for me. She still does 1 yr on as Im not allowed to stand on one foot and am on crutches, think of all the things you need two feet and hands for? Go…..

ill help…

  • Carrying your meal to the table
  • Carrying a cup of coffee
  • Hanging up your clothes
  • Hanging out the wash
  • Grocery shopping
  • Showering
  • Making your bed.
  • Driving, its my right foot thats injured…boom boom haha. sucky.

These are ALL huge struggles on crutches

17274724_10156023321103228_1802754993_n
Mum and I when I was on a hospital in the home program, I fell ill  when visiting friends in QLD, unable to stay at the hospital longer than a week, as I was from NSW. Ridiculous! The head nurse didnt really believe in positive attitude. Mum flew to QLD where we had to rent a motel for 2 weeks while I finished my intervene injection outside of hospital, a nurse would come daily to change the drip. Which you know what, at least we were allowed out in the sunshine 🙂
18136474_10156187359738228_1149707341_n
Mum and I prior the accident.

Dad had to work overtime and extra hard to make ends meet, as once my family and I landed back in Australia, travel insurance no longer covered me, we were given no financial support, nothing from government, without them I wouldn’t be surviving now. No way at all! Dad also built ramps all around the house make it wheel chair friendly for me, and knee scooter friendly.

17270968_10156023321148228_1382398511_n
Dad and I in Hospital
17918801_10156145521128228_1894942984_n
Dad and I wondering what the dickens we are doing back in hospital haha.

The two have given up endless amounts of their time for me over the last year, they still are, this time includes staying awake with me at night till early hours of the morning, when I cant sleep due to nerve pain. They comfort me while I cry, and just provide company so I don’t have to go it alone. This is a weekly ritual.

Along with Sitting by my side through on going hospital visits, doctors appointments, trips to Melbourne-(4 hours away) up and back in a day for scans. Helping me hang out the washing and they even cook for me as I am unable to stand on my leg.

img_2151
Mum, dad and I in hospital in California

Because of this time they have endlessly and wholeheartedly given to me, they have missed out on time with their friends, with each other and doing the things they enjoy.

 

dad an i
Baskin in the sun at hospital with dad.

 

 

My sisters have been there every step of the way as well, every step of the way, they give me endless support and I love them with all my heart, they’ve been through alot too. Imagine seeing your brother or sister in a wheel chair and not knowing if this is how they would stay for the rest of their life. Or hearing the news that your brother or sister have been severely injured, their life on the line but being on the other side of the world and unable to get to them!!!

18136016_10156187359678228_818228835_n
Hollie my sister
18136715_10156187359358228_1747872888_n
Hannah my sister
18254462_10156214281758228_1577697220_n
Han doing my hair in hospital
18110638_10156187359523228_392857326_n
Hannah my sister slept over with me in Hospital

I would give the two of them the entire world If I could. But financially, at the moment Im unable to work, my health being like the weather, unpredictable. With multiple surgeries still to come, the worlds a little out of reach for me to give them haha. I love them to the sun and back and not a day goes by I don’t feel complete gratitude for them. I know I wouldnt be where I am now without them!

Hoowweevveerrr, 4 weeks ago now I was finallllyyyy able to give something back two my best friends. I got in contact with the Border Hit 104.9 and with a little help from Riley Rose and Seamus, we helped make a little getaway possible for them.

18136494_10156187359413228_964713319_n

I was absolutely ecstatic. Thank you Riley Rose and Seamus for helping me with this “Random Act Of Kindness” and KDEC you guys are the bomb diggity.

43688-win-1

See Below The FULL Interview with Riley Rose and Seamus at Hit 104.9 The Border. Have a listen if you like to my parents journey, a mother and father of a incomplete- paraplegic/ spinal injury sufferer.


Leave a comment